Happy Spring, y’all.

Hey, guess what?  I finished my externship.  A while ago.  As I mentioned earlier, my externship took place at Balthazar Bakery, which I was actually employed at before my externship even started.  It’s been about five months, and despite my ridiculous sleep schedule (if I get any sleep at all) and the multiple burn marks (or “battle scars” as cool people call them) on my arms, I love my job.  There are ups, there are downs, but there is always a learning experience.  And there is always a radio on playing pop music to sing and dance to.  Just another life lesson with Christine.

Seriously though, I really like the people I work with and I feel lucky to have started my fabulous NYC culinary career in this kitchen.  Alas, all good things must come to an end, or whatever, and this week is my last week because alas, I am too poor to commute into the city.  Alas.  How sad is that?  But!  I am still going to go on trails in the city at some restaurants!  Maybe I will find a golden opportunity there and get a local job and work all the damn time and have zero time for anything else!  I can’t wait.  I also can’t wait until I get whisked away to Puerto Rico the day after my last day of work.  So, I’m technically unemployed, but I will worry about that after my vacation.

Look, I made a croquembouche the other day for my sister-in-law’s bridal shower:

I was very happy to make this for her for the party, but, well, let’s just say this required lots of patience.  Patience that I quickly ran out of after the first two rows.  And, I also made madeleines and macaroons.  Yum.

Also, I ate three sandwiches today all before lunchtime.  One was literally the size of my face.  Just thought I’d mention that.

2 responses to “Happy Spring, y’all.

  1. woooooooooooooooooooooow.

  2. Awwww!! It’s finally time to go 😦 Have a fabulous time in Puerto Rico! So glad we got to work together a little…don’t forget the bedazzled ice cream scoop!!!! Take care missy 🙂

Leave a Reply

